Skip to content

Committees and Liaisons

School District Committees

Agenda items for the Regular Board Meetings are filtered through the Board’s standing committees – the Education Committee and the Business Committee – for review and/or recommendation to the Board.  During the school year, the Education and Business Committees meet monthly noting there are no Committee Meetings or Board Meetings scheduled in March.  For the 2023-24 school year, committee members include:

Education Committee

  • Karen Jonkman – Chair
  • Wayne Jones
  • Julia Sundell
  • Aaron Callaghan – Superintendent
  • Julia Nieckarz – Director of Instruction, Learner Support
  • Geraldine Lawlor – Director of Instruction, Graduation & Innovation
  • Robert Clifton – Director of Instruction, Indigenous Education
  • Additional Education Committee partners include: CMAA, CUPE, Local First Nations, DPAC, & CMTF 

Business Committee

  • Ed Harrison – Chair
  • Sonny Duncan-Green
  • Mike Maxim
  • Ginger Fuller – Secretary Treasurer
  • Aaron Callaghan – Superintendent


Trustee School Liaison Assignments

Trustee School Liaison assignments, guided by the Board's Rational, Purpose & Parameters document, provide an opportunity for increased communication between trustees and school communities. Schools throughout the district are divided among trustees to ensure the trustees have knowledge of their electoral area schools and the programs and initiatives that are achieving the district’s goals. Assignments for 2023-24 can be found below.



Hazelton / Kitwanga

  • Hazelton Secondary School – Wayne Jones
  • Kitwanga Elementary School – Ed Harrison
  • Majagaleehl Gali Aks Elementary School – Wayne Jones
  • New Hazelton Elementary School – Wayne Jones


  • Kildala Elementary School – Karen Jonkman
  • Kitimat City High School – Karen Jonkman
  • Mount Elizabeth Middle Secondary School – Sonny Duncan-Green
  • Nechako Elementary School – Sonny Duncan-Green


  • Bear Valley School Trustee – Wayne Jones


Terrace / Thornhill

  • Caledonia Secondary School – Margaret Warcup
  • Cassie Hall Elementary School – Margaret Warcup
  • Ecole Mountainview – Margaret Warcup
  • Northwest Trades & Employment Training Centre – Karen Jonkman
  • Parkside Secondary School – Ed Harrison
  • Skeena Middle School – Ed Harrison
  • Suwilaawks Community School – Margaret Warcup
  • Thornhill Elementary School – Margaret Warcup
  • Thornhill Primary School – Ed Harrison
  • Uplands Elementary School – Ed Harrison